Resolving To Make New Year’s Resolutions

I typically don’t make New Year’s Resolutions; they just seem like another way to set yourself up for failure. Alas, as I embark on the year of my 30th birthday I’ve found myself rattling off the things I want to accomplish in 2015. Sound like resolutions, right? I thought so, too. I guess this year’s as good as any to start. So, in addition to the old adages of eating healthier and getting my butt to the gym regularly (late nights at the office be damned!), here are a few that I’m really rooting for.

Screen shot 2014-12-21 at 7.21.41 PM

1) Start a list of all the book I read in 2015–and if all goes well–keep that list going forever. My uncle Ed has been keeping a list of all the books he’s read since the 80’s and it’s really inspiring to hear him talk about it. Sure there are the books taking up real estate on my book shelf, but then there are the books taken out of the library or borrowed from friends that slip my mind. It seems like a list I’d be proud to whip out and scan 5, 10, 20 years from now. What, did I really read all of the Twighlight books?!? I’d also like to go to more book readings this year; not just just add them to my iPhone calendar, actually go to them.

Screen shot 2014-12-21 at 7.22.23 PM

2) Blog at least once a month. This seems like a negligible amount of blog posts a month given what the pros do, but coming from someone who has gone months without logging into WordPress, I have to set reasonable expectations!

3) Volunteer again. A few years ago, I volunteered with New York Cares alongside my friends Roe and Nicole. We planted a garden at a senior center, walked with disabled persons in Central Park, served food in a soup kitchen, played with kids at a rec center and did some post-Sandy clean up. After a two year hiatus, I am way overdue to do some good.

4) Take advantage of living in NYC and do more cultural things! I wish I could say I was one of those New Yorkers who goes to weekly concerts/art galleries/museums/enter events here. However, I am not. Sure, I go see my fair share of bands and even went to my co-worker’s rooftop comedy show in Bushwick this October (that counts, right?!), but I don’t go to nearly enough as I would like to. And it’s hard; between work/gym/obligations/just wanting to drink in a bar/just being tired, before I know it months have gone by. So, I am grabbing the bull by the horns in 2015 and making sure to go to at least one live event a month. January is starting off strong with a Jack White concert at MSG and a few Broadway shows, so here’s to hoping that momentum sticks.

Screen shot 2014-12-21 at 7.20.29 PMReal Estate, Music Hall of Williamsburg

5) Do more things in Brooklyn. I’ve lived in Park Slope for over a year and a half now, but I’m subject to these regretful twinges that I’m not taking advantage of my own borough. It’s so easy (and amazing!) to go out in Manhattan; it’s where I work and where most of my friends live. But there are cool things going on in my ‘hood, too. So to build off #4, there’s a cute little bar a few blocks from my apartment called Barbes that has live music every night. There’s no reason why I shouldn’t pop in there and take a listen, right?

I have high hopes for you, 2015!

One thought on “Resolving To Make New Year’s Resolutions

Leave a Reply

