We Are The Recess Renegades

I recently started playing kickball through ZogSports with my friend Nicole, and it has turned out to be crazy fun. We decided to sign up as a way to meet new people and do something different with our Sunday afternoons.  I have since learned that I play a mean 2nd base, haha.

Image

We play every Sunday at McLaughlin Park in DUMBO and then go for out for drinks afterwards, which is really why everyone signed up in the first place, right? I kid, I kid. We actually have a really great team, and are tied for 3rd place in the league. In other words, I see a kickball championship in the Recess Renegades’ future.

Image
Image

I know kickball may not seem like the most badass sport out there, but let me just tell you – it gets REAL out on the field. Just last week, one of my teammates had to get stitches in her eyebrow after a turbulent collision at home plate with a guy from the opposite team. Kickball is not for the faint of heart.

Image

We still have another month’s worth of games ahead of us, so I’ll be sure to update you all with our final stats.

If you’ve ever thought about joining an intramural sport, do it. It’s a lot of fun and a great way to meet really nice people from your hood. Just make sure you have medical insurance in the event things take a turn for the worse, and you need to make a trip to the emergency room. It’s no big deal, really.

2 thoughts on “We Are The Recess Renegades

  1. This sounds great, Christine! Getting to know people in your neighborhood sounds like fun and is something that a lot of people don’t do too much of these days. It’s a good age old tradition! Love you! (And your postings, too!)

Leave a Reply

