Moonstruck in Brooklyn Heights

Everyone has that movie they’ve seen a hundred times; the movie they can recite every line and stage direction of, thereby annoying anyone watching in the same room. For me (and my mom) that movie is Moonstruck. Yes, the Moonstruck of 1987 with Cher and Nic Cage. I don’t care how many jokes Nic Cage is (rightly) the butt of, you have to love him in this movie! Short synopsis – Loretta Castorini (Cher) is a widow who’s engaged to marry a man named Johnny Cammareri, but falls in love with his more handsome, yet maimed, brother Ronny (Nic Cage). It’s become a ritual that every time I come home to my parents house, my mom and I have to watch. There’s just something comforting about watching that family. And can you say quotable?

The reason I bring this up is because I was walking around Brooklyn Heights recently, turned down a side street and had a Moonstruck moment. The movie is set in Brooklyn Heights on a gorgeous tree-lined street, filled with federal-style brick row houses and a view of lower Manhattan. A street very similar to this…

Image

I snapped a few more pictures because, aside from the Moonstruck nostalgia, it’s also another one of Brooklyn’s neighborhoods that I just find captivating.

Image

And, tucked between the brownstone and brick are colonial gems like this…

Image

…and Art Deco ones like this.

Image

Image

To sum it all up: add Brooklyn Heights to your list of must-see BK neighborhoods. Once you’re there, it’ll be hard to ‘snap out of it!‘ …I couldn’t resist.

2 thoughts on “Moonstruck in Brooklyn Heights

  1. AHHHHH I neeeeed to make it to Brooklyn sometime super soon! Your blog is great – just started following 🙂

    <3, Charlotte

Leave a Reply

