Thanksgiving at The Campbell Residence

Every time I tell myslef I am going to be good and write blog posts regularly, my lazy alter ego rears its ugly head and two months go by without fingers tapping keys! I know, I know, what is with that? However, I caught the itch again and am happy to present Thanksgiving Through Pictures, The 2012 Edition.

We’ve had Thanksgiving at my parent’s house for as long as I can remember. My Grandma and Mom work their magic in the kitchen and whip up everything from the turkey and stuffing to mashed potatoes and string beans. My Mom was never one for baking, so that’s usually left to assorted family members and Italian bakeries. There is one thing that is left to me though; the antipast. Since I was old enough to say “more salami please,” I have looked forward to plating some of my favorite foods to ever grace this lovely planet of ours. Grandma showed me how to roll the cheese and meats in a pattern that not only looked pretty but worked as a sturdy border for the assorted artichoke hearts, olives and roasted red peppers contained within. Yesterday she happily proclaimed that she would “watch her student,” and sat back as I got to work.

There were a few things left out of this year’s plate (sopressata and mortadella #fail) but they’ll make an appearance on Christmas.

I snapped this picture of my Grandma on Thanksgiving Eve, before we cleared the kicthen to let the peeling, cutting and seasoning begin. She made the tablecloth in the ’70s by sewing together the calendar dishtowels that were all the rage then.


Even though it’s aquired a few stains over the years, I love what it adds to the table.

My mom’s cousin Vivian and family brought along their adorable pooch Coco to the celebration. Since we never had a dog at home it’s always cute to see this furry gal weaving her way throug everyone’s feet.

Coco gets bonus points for being a hypoallergenic Havanese Poodle that doesn’t shed or make me reach for the Benadryl.

Around 3 o’clock the gang was all together so the wine bottles were popped and the gorging commenced.

Side Note:

:: Earlier this week, a reality TV “celebrity” from Bravo tweeted, in not so many words, that she didn’t like how Thanksgiving has become more about food and less about giving thanks. I think most people would agree that sitting around a table eating and drinking with friends and family is a HUGE thing to be thankful for. That tweet really grinded my gears ::

Photo courtesy of my sis.

This picture cracks me up because my cousin April’s 4-year-old daughter Lauren (seen there laying face down on the couch) is either a complete ham (see picture below) or runs away from a camera like it’s diseased.

Lauren is the first little one we’ve had on my Mom’s side of the familiy since we were little, so naturally she gets fawned over. Half of our day was spent playing Barbies (where this youngster decided a few of Ken’s girlfriends would die in skiing accidents, what an imagination) or coloring those hand turkeys you see on the fridge.


Unfortunately, our green eyes do not bode well with camera flashes, hence the devilish cat eyes seen below.

From left to right: My brother Matt (performing his signature headlock pose), me, Vivian, Gram and Coco.

I don’t know if two sisters ever looked less alike?

I don’t have the privilege of sleeping on these sheets this weekend, but I had to take a picture of them because they are the COZIEST flannel sheets ever made. Praise be to HomeGoods.

And that, in a nutshell, was our Thanksgiving 🙂 I will share one last thing that’s on my mind: my Uncle Wayne’s family wasn’t with us this year (they were visiting family members out of state) so most of our conversation took place via Instagram, which was a first for me. When I said to myself, “I wish Leigh could see this,” I posted a picture and minutes later I knew she had. It definitely made it feel like they were there in spirit. Ahh, the power of social media.

I hope you all had a great holiday … until next time!

Leave a Reply

