Montauk, The End

This past Friday, I drove out to Montauk with my family and two of my best friends, Keri and Amanda, for a day of sand and sun. It’s about a two hour drive from my parents house to Kirk Beach, but passing through the beautiful vineyards and palatial homes of The Hamptons does not a bad car ride make. It was also nice to spend a day with my brother who lives at home and is embarking on a cross-country road trip next weekend. I’ll go off on a slight tangent here and confess that road trippin’ with my two favorite allies, fully loaded we got snacks and supplies* weighs heavily on my list of Life’s To Do’s. Needless to say, I am vicariously living this one out through my little bro.

Image

{Myself, Matt and Kerry}

ANYWAY, one of my favorite places on the face of this planet is Cape Cod and, lucky for me, Montauk is a perfect (and closer) fix. With its quaint beach-town feel and colonial-esque gray-shingled homes, it could be Cape Cod’s little sister.

We arrived to the beach around 12:30 PM and no sooner had my sister and I stretched out on our beach chairs than a seagull flew by, depositing a nice little poo on our hair and shoulders. We both dove right into the ocean to ceremoniously cleanse ourselves.

Image

{The mighty Atlantic}

Image

{Tommy Campbell, ever the photographer}

{A sandy exodus; Amanda, Kerry and Matt}

At first glance, I couldn’t tell if this sign was in favor of, or scolding against, a rendezvous in the dunes?

After a day on Kirk Beach, we drove six miles to The (actual) End of Long Island and paid a visit to the Montauk Lighthouse. We didn’t go up, but rather admired it from a far.

{Olympic contender}

If  you look closely at this next picture you can see two people enjoying the view from the top of the lighthouse.

A great way to build up an appetite for seafood is to lounge on a beach all day. So, at the suggestion of my sister, we listened to our cravings and enjoyed a meal at The Lobster Roll in Amagansett. While none of us actually got lobster rolls, the seafood was so fresh and the $5 margaritas so tasty that we didn’t feel as though we missed out on anything.

My mom and I both ordered the Seafood Mac and Cheese, which was a huge hit. The chunks of lobster, shrimp and scallops were so fresh and were complimented – not overpowered – by a light cheese sauce. However, I do have to add, last weekend I had an amazing Lobster Mac and Cheese courtesy of my friend Lindsey’s dad and I do think that was even better than this. My reasoning based on the fact that, as it turns out, I like my mac and cheese heavy on the cheese.

So, if you’re looking for a beachy escape in New York I offer you Montauk. It’s worth noting that Kirk Beach is public and a bargain at the wallet-friendly price of $0.

Leave a Reply

